Zombie Project: 15mm US Infantry Done … Finally!

Ever have a zombie project? I don’t mean for a zombie game, but one of those hobby projects that just keeps shambling on beyond its anticipated life expectancy. Well, this US platoon was mine.

The good news is that they are done, look good enough for government work, and round out my forces required to start the 29, Let’s Go! pint-sized campaign for Too Fat Lardies’ Chain of Command. I have wanted some plain-jane US infantry for a long time, but never go around to it until now.

The bad news was that I really disliked my first attempt. The webbing color in particular seemed off. I am a slow painter with an ambitious agenda, so I felt like I lost a month or more of work and it knocked me off my stride. I dithered around trying to figure out what to do. About a month later, I decided to finish the project, even if just to silence the nagging feeling in the back of my mind.

Alternatives2

Original paint job on the far right, preferred colors on the far left

Being too lazy to totally strip the models and repaint from scratch, I covered the jackets, webbing, and gaiters in a dark brown before applying a single highlight layer of my preferred tones (Vallejo Khaki for the jackets, Green Grey for the gaiters and webbing). The results are’t flashy, but they work. The models are, with a couple exceptions, Battlefront’s new plastic figures. This is fortunate because they are easy to paint with lots of large, raised details, so I didn’t feel like I lost too much detail with all the extra layers of paint. I strongly recommend these models to anyone working in 15mm WWII. Final 4
Final

Now that that’s done, I am working on something totally different that I hope to post soon. Then I will wrap up my first foray into 15mm sci-fi before turning my eyes (and brushes) to the Dark Ages!

Leave a Reply

